top of page
Writer's pictureAmbers Hope

How to have impact

Do you desire to impact the lives of those around you? Do you ever wonder how simple, seemingly insignificant people can have a significant effect on the lives of those around them?


It’s an absolute joy to step into this role as Program Director with Amber’s Hope maternity Home. I don't know about you, but I never imagined I would ever possess skills or capacities for a role like this. However, as I look back over my life, I can see how God has prepared me and equipped me for this position. Almost as if this was His plan for me all along.


For may years I was operating in hopeful expectation of the good things my Heavenly Father has promised. As a child I had no idea what I would do when I grew up. Truthfully I never felt like I had any special gifting or talents. I didn’t imagine that God would use me in any significant way. It’s a beautiful thing to be in a place where I can now look back and see God at work.


I knew I wanted to work with people and as a teenager I trusted that my Heavenly Father was leading me. As I step into this role, I can see that through the hardships I have endured and the experiences I have had personally and professionally, that God has been working to prepare me. I share this to encourage you that whatever life experiences you have, if you commit your ways to Him, He will use them, even the ugly things, for beautiful and meaningful purposes. If you are struggling in that dark place right now, cling to His promises. The bible is full of them! The Word says that "if you seek, you will find" and "if any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you.". Your Heavenly Father wants to lead you through this dark place to a place of healing and full life.


For those of you who are curious about me, I will share a bit about my experiences that I feel have prepared me for this role, For those of you who aren’t curious, feel free to skip ahead to the end. There’s some more encouragement there for you.


I completed the 1 year discipleship program at Mount Carmel Bible college in 2005. I went on to earn a diploma at Grant Mac Ewan College in Child and Youth Care. After which I moved home, married my best friend and took a job at a group home working with high risk youth. Two years later my farmer and I started a family. I chose to be a stay at home mom. Several years later I started a home based business. Entrepreneurship has taught me a great deal about the corporate world and sustainability.


As I look at the paths I’ve walked I can see how, at the time, it often didn’t make sense to me. There were times when I would ask God, “are you sure?” But He gave me peace to keep going. So if you find yourself in a place that doesn’t make much sense to you. Maybe it’s a hard place, maybe it’s a painful place, or maybe it’s an uncomfortable place, know that He uses the foolish and broken things of the world for His glory. Ask the Father to lead you through it and trust in His goodness and faithfulness. You may feel insignificant, but if you are willing, He will use you to reach those around you in beautiful ways. 



Katherine Nanninga Program Director

Thank you for partnering with us at Amber’s Hope. We are so excited to see this home impact those in our communities who need our supports. Please consider helping us have that impact by becoming a monthly supporter.





31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Why Barrhead?

I have often been asked, "Why Barrhead? " I've never had a good answer for this questions. I knew from growing up in this community that...

Comments


bottom of page