top of page
Writer's pictureAmbers Hope

Why Barrhead?

I have often been asked,


"Why Barrhead? "


I've never had a good answer for this questions. I knew from growing up in this community that we have something special, but tangible proof, of what exactly we have here, is hard to come by.


However, this week Monday I had the privilege of attending the Inter Agency meeting. A large table was surrounded by nearly 20 individuals representing different community resources and supports. I listened as I learned about the remarkable groups of compassionate and dedicated individuals who keep these organizations going.

Some time ago, as I was reading in the book of John, when Jesus asked Peter to "feed my lambs... tend my sheep... feed my sheep" I felt a personal call, as if Jesus himself was looking at me, asking me directly to tend his sheep.

As I was sitting at that table, this week, I was struck by this group, who was doing just that.


As I left the room that day, I passed a couple of ladies who mentioned they were from another community about an 90 minutes away. They stopped me and wished me well. "You are so fortunate to be here in Barrhead, they said. We wish we had access to the supports you do here. That's when it hit me. This is why we are positioned here, in this town. This community has supported us in profound and meaningful ways. We really do have something special here!


We have a community that cares and that steps up to serve in tangible ways. This is what will enable us to serve women from all over. We know that the need is great. We also know that there are many here who love people and are eager to see this project thrive. Thank you so much for being a part of this community, it's a joy to serve along side you. Katherine Nanninga

Interim Executive Director

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page